Tortured Ideals

2 05 2012

Misinterpreted

Mislead

Perverted words

And tortured ideals

But who to trust

When they all disagree

On what’s a must

Some say “More freedom!”

Unless you are gay

Or a woman

Or black

Or brown

Others say

“Get out of the Middle East!”

“It’s not our fight!”

But what about that

Disastrous plane flight

And the towers ablaze

Am I in a dream

Or do we really have two sides

With no in between?

That’s my future your playing with,

By the way

My voice is drowned

In the volatile crowd

I don’t have money for a Super PAC

How are those legal anyway?

The concept is simply whack

I’m too young to vote

But old enough to know

This is a bad direction to go

Why don’t you all shut up

And look around

Before this all-out boxing match

Starts another round

 

Actions

Information

11 responses

3 05 2012
Cat Forsley

YOU HAVE SUCH A STRONG POETIC VOICE ………
I SEE ON THE SIDE YOU ARE IN SCHOOL – THE COUNTDOWN BOX.!!!
WISHING YOU THE BEST IN YOUR STUDIES AND A REALLY NICE BREAK AFTER …..:)
MUCH LOVE XOXOXO
CAT

3 05 2012
catcherofstars

Thank you!!! AP exams coming up……
It think I’ll collapse in bed for a week or two lol….
Andrea XOXO

3 05 2012
Cat Forsley

GOOD LUCK ……
I AM SURE YOU WILL ACE EVERYTHING …….
πŸ™‚
YEAH I SURE WOULD REST FOR A WEEK AFTER ALL THAT …..!!!!!!
SERIOUSLY πŸ™‚
DO YOU KNOW CHA ?
“DONTYOUWANNADREAM”
SHE IS IN FRANCE
SHE JUST FINISHED HER EXAMS LAST WEEK …..:)
SHE IS REALLY KIND
JUST LIKE YOU πŸ™‚
WISHING YOU THE VERY BEST ALWAYS XO
CAT

7 05 2012
El Guapo

Sometimes I think it would be bette if younger people ran the world.
Mostly I just wish older people would consider the situation the way you do.
Eloquently stated, Andrea!

9 05 2012
bardessdmdenton

‘Before this all-out boxing match
Starts another round’

…and round and round. You have a powerful poetic voice, Andrea!

Older or younger…let’s not generalize…there’s enough divisiveness. Let’s emphasize our connectedness in how we live and respect each other and work towards peace…and leaving the world a better place than we find it.

21 05 2012
onwindydays

Deep, very deep. In an awesome way. As usual πŸ™‚

Hey, you’re almost there! Summer is so close haha!

22 05 2012
Ben Naga

Are you subscribed at http://www.alternet.org/ ? You might find it worthwhile. πŸ™‚

10 06 2012
rastelly

I havent forgot who gave me my
first award! Win a Libster yet?
There is one waiting for you on
my site!

1 07 2012
abichica

wooww!! your poetry is forever mesmerizing, it leaves me wanting more to see what else you will come up with!! just wonderful.. πŸ™‚

27 08 2012
nepaliaustralian

hey where have u been?

2 04 2013
onwindydays

I agree! I miss you’re awesome pieces of poetry! D:

Thoughts?

