Goodbye Uncle John

7 04 2012

My uncle John died on March 21, 2012.  I wrote this poem two days after.

Goodbye Uncle John

It hurts to say so long

All the memories are clearer now

Precious and we’ll never forget

Just how much to us you meant

Goodbye Uncle John

For a man who spoke so few

I have so many words for you

It’s not enough to say ‘”I love,”

And it’s not enough to say “I miss,”

Because it comes down to a single moment

One more hug

One  more laugh

One more meal

But even then I still would feel

A need for just once more

To see you walking through the door

Smiling gruffly just once more

Goodbye Uncle John

Husband

Father

Cousin

Friend

Someday we’ll meet again

But until then

Goodbye Uncle John

It hurts to say so long

You may not be here

But you will never be gone

Actions

Information

21 responses

7 04 2012
Cat Forsley

BEAUTIFUL ANDREA …..XX
GOOD TO READ YOU AGAIN …
WISHING YOU A LOVELY EASTER !!!
LOVE XX CAT

8 04 2012
catcherofstars

Same to you!! Don’t eat too much candy…I know I will…..lol
Andrea XXX

8 04 2012
Cat Forsley

I JUST DID ……….
XX LOL 🙂 MUCH LOVE XOXOXO CAT

7 04 2012
aussieian2011

A sad but beautiful written tribute to your uncle
who you so loved dearly , he will always be with you in your memorys
Aussie Ian

9 04 2012
catcherofstars

Forever!!
Andrea xxx

8 04 2012
C.B. Wentworth

I’m so sorry for your loss. He sounds like a wonderful person and you’ve given him a beautiful tribute.

9 04 2012
catcherofstars

He was amazing! He taught me how to drive and how to ride a horse.
Andrea xxx

8 04 2012
kate58

My condolences, Andrea. xx

9 04 2012
catcherofstars

Thank you, friend.
Andrea xx

8 04 2012
willowdot21

I am so sorry for your loss he was obviously a wonderful uncle to you! Carry him with you in your heart always! 🙂 XXX

Happy Easter

8 04 2012
catcherofstars

I will, he was like a father.
Andrea

9 04 2012
Zen and Genki

So sorry for your loss – your Uncle obviously had a profound effect on you (and your heart). Lovely tribute.

9 04 2012
catcherofstars

Thank you, he did. It’s frustrating how it takes a loss to realize what we had in the first place.
Andrea

10 04 2012
bardessdmdenton

My deep condolences, Andrea. I just lost my aunt suddenly last Saturday and so this really resonated with me. (Especially hard for my mom, for she was her closest sister) You have offered a precious tribute to your dear uncle.

11 04 2012
catcherofstars

I’m so sorry!! Death is so hard, it reminds us of our own mortality. You’re always left wishing you could have had one more conversation.
Andrea xxx

14 04 2012
Numero Uno

“You may not be here”
“But you will never be gone”
May his soul rest in peace!
Touching,Sad and Beautiful

14 04 2012
catcherofstars

Thank you for your support! I miss him so very much.
Andrea

21 04 2012
WordsFallFromMyEyes

What a wonderful poem. Did you read it at his funeral? That would have been so, so perfect. I’d love to teach my son how to drive, & I’ve got to say, I wish I knew how to ride a horse. I’m afraid of them! They ARE beautiful, but so big.

21 04 2012
catcherofstars

I wrote it at his funeral, during the service, in the back pew. He was cremated and I had the original copy burned and I scattered it above where they buried his ashes.
Horses are only scary in the beginning, then they become teddy bears with hooves 🙂
Andrea xxx

2 05 2012
Ben Naga

Sometimes the “simple” things are the most profound and complex, and therefore in some ways the hardest to encompass. You capture that so well here.

2 05 2012
catcherofstars

🙂 I think simplicity baffles us as humans because when we come across something “easy” to understand, we automatically look for a catch, so to speak.
Andrea XOXO

Thoughts?

