A Bookmark’s Promise

24 01 2012

I was in my AP Human Geography class today and I was telling my friends about this blog and one of them asked me what I like to write about and I answered, being intentionally ambiguous”Everything” She, like me, is an avid reader and promptly pulled out the bookmark in her copy of “The Good Earth” and told me to write a poem about it.  I am not kidding and this poem is the result.

Best.Bookmark.Ever

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Keep me near and I will mark

Your way through any adventure

On which you choose to embark

I’ll be your milestone

And never let you lose your place

Once I’m between pages

I’ll catch your tears

Or share your laugh

And be there for every book, front to back

Just keep me near

And do not fear

I will always keep your place

Held tight by a crisp, papery embrace

Actions

Information

25 responses

24 01 2012
bibliopirate

I love that bookmark, I don’t think I’ve seen better.

24 01 2012
catcherofstars

I know!! I want to find one now!!It’s officially my life mission.
Andrea

24 01 2012
24 01 2012
El Guapo

Turns out you might be able to get it with your poem too.

http://www.etsy.com/listing/85225614/personalized-wicked-witch-bookmark-etsy

24 01 2012
El Guapo

Again, beautiful. You should print that on bookmarks as a perfect accompaniment.

And thanks for the pic. I just ordered one for my girl, who is a Wizard of Oz fan and an avid reader.

24 01 2012
catcherofstars

Seriously? Awesome!! I claim gift credit, just kidding 😉
Andrea

24 01 2012
willowdot21

That is just so very very clever….I love it, love it. That will show your friend how good you are!xx

25 01 2012
catcherofstars

Oh yes, it did 🙂
Andrea

24 01 2012
The Emu

Beautifully descriptive and well done with the pic
Emu aka Ian

25 01 2012
catcherofstars

Thank you, I’m going to try and add them to all of my posts, formatting is so annoying though
Andrea

24 01 2012
lscotthoughts

Love this, Andrea! 🙂

25 01 2012
catcherofstars

Thanks Lauren!!
Hope all is well!!
Andrea

25 01 2012
Arjun Sharma

and ode to a bookmark, impressive Andrea.

25 01 2012
catcherofstars

Thank you! 🙂
Andrea

25 01 2012
Vampire Weather

Don’t you feel the magic
In the tips of every digit
As you illustrate your talent
In a thousand perfect ways?

Don’t you feel the blessing
Of the rhymes you are confessing
When you strike a pose and
Write a line and blow us all away?

😉

Always so awesome. Great stuff, Andrea!

25 01 2012
catcherofstars

Yes, it courses through me
Those winds that knock you down
With words and thoughts profound
Though I only feel it after
You praise me with your words

Andrea

25 01 2012
Vampire Weather

🙂

25 01 2012
nepaliaustralian

Nice one. Love the pic 🙂

25 01 2012
catcherofstars

Thank you!!
Cheers!
Andrea

25 01 2012
Maiya

Wow..not yet 16 and so talented. You are blessed. Now your friends know how talented you are!

25 01 2012
GrowthLines...

Delightful, and oh so true!!

25 01 2012
catcherofstars

I’m always sad when on tears…
I used to have one that I made out of a piece of notebook paper. I would write the date I started a book, title/author, and the date I finished on it. I probably went through about seventy books with that one bookmark, eventually I ran out of writing room.
Andrea

25 01 2012
A. A.Trivedi

An excellent poem Andrea!! And I have to say it…very awesome bookmark :p

25 01 2012
catcherofstars

Oh yes, I am dying for one now!!
Andrea

27 01 2012
MikeP

As a photographer I do not think I could have done as well as this for a challenge….big props to you!!!

Thoughts?

