Ode to My Converse

21 01 2012

Oh Converse, oh Converse shoe

Nowhere is where I’d be without you

We’ve been everywhere together

And braved all sorts of weather

You’re dirty and you’re torn

And blissfully well-worn

You never go out of style

And make long walks worth their while

Long thin laces that never come untied

You make me go all starry-cross-eyed

My feet feel guilty in other shoes

Days without you are simply the blues

Stay with me and I’ll serenade you with verse after verse

I swear to be faithful for better or worse

Actions

Information

26 responses

21 01 2012
fashionjotter

very cool entry. love it! i have the same relationship with my cons.

21 01 2012
catcherofstars

I’m not sure what it is about them, it’s like they have shoe swag or something lol
Thanks for dropping by!
Andrea

21 01 2012
hollyannegetspoetic

I feel similarly about my hot pink patent Dr Marten boots. 🙂
Hey, there must be something in the air, as I’ve been writing about shoes and boots this week!
Cool poem.

22 01 2012
catcherofstars

I used to have some of those, but sadly I outgrew them, I was so sad
Andrea

21 01 2012
Vampire Weather

Such a humorous and clever little verse, Andrea. I wrote something similar for my cell phone, but I have not posted it yet 😉 Maybe this will inspire me to

22 01 2012
catcherofstars

You should, I’m curious to read a humorous poem by you
I used to have a phone, but my mom’s paycheck was cut and incidentally, her bosses was raised. Small town politics and all that.
It has been a very liberating experience but my social life has been reduced drastically
Andrea

21 01 2012
willowdot21

so wonderful you have put into words my gratitude to my trainers!!

22 01 2012
catcherofstars

haha it’s amazing what shoes can do
Andrea xxx

21 01 2012
El Guapo

Last lines hint at some dark turmoil between your converse and you…
For years, all I wore were my Chuck Ts. My girl still wears them…

22 01 2012
catcherofstars

lol, Ah yes, I recently acquired some new sanuks, those must be the problem
Andrea

21 01 2012
aussieian2011

Very cleverly written , had me smiling all the way through
As I could imagine your love of a dearest possession
Your shoe
Ian aka Emu

22 01 2012
catcherofstars

A girl’s gotta have her shoes 🙂
Cheers
Andrea

21 01 2012
MikeP

I think I will rename it ‘Your Dad” to remind my youngest to get in touch once a month… 🙂

22 01 2012
catcherofstars

Haha go for it, I don’t mind, just tell them about the original 🙂
Andrea

21 01 2012
C.B. Wentworth

I love this! I’m a hardcore, Converse wearing girl myself. They go with everything and I wear them every day. 🙂

22 01 2012
catcherofstars

They are utilitarian but with style!!
Andrea

23 01 2012
Aslan Kanshaw

hehehe 😀 soo cool

23 01 2012
catcherofstars

It’s the least I could do for my favorite shoe 🙂
Thanks for dropping by
Andrea

23 01 2012
bipolarmuse

Love

23 01 2012
catcherofstars

🙂 It seemed apt, as I’m reaching the third anniversary with this pair
Andrea

23 01 2012
bardessdmdenton

Nothing like well-worn and friendly footwear! Love it!

23 01 2012
catcherofstars

So often forgotten, the luxury of a favorite pair of shoes. They deserve more credit!!
Andrea

23 01 2012
isabellart

love the poem and love my converse too

23 01 2012
catcherofstars

I noticed your picture 🙂
Andrea

24 01 2012
lscotthoughts

This is so clever and cute and makes me wanna hug my shoes! 🙂

25 01 2012
catcherofstars

I’m sure they would appreciate it lol 😉
Andrea

Thoughts?

