The Dead Villager

14 01 2012

Here I lie

Unseeing eyes

Wanting to cry

Those soldiers have come

In planes so large

They block out the sun

Shots destroy every silent night

My whole word screams but one word, “FIGHT!”

Who said they could come?

Who said they could come

And just take over

Pushing us around

Like a bulldozer

I’ve seen atrocities

That would you astound

And knock you speechless

Flat on the ground

Like me

In this hot desert sand

A worthless olive branch

Limp in my hand

We don’t need them

They think they’re so good

Go back home

Words are for peace

Not soldiers with guns

Actions

Information

22 responses

14 01 2012
Step On a Crack

It is with great joy that I hand off the light of the Candle Lighter Award!

see this post for details:

http://steponacrack.wordpress.com/2012/01/14/candle-lighter-award/

Peace to you!

Jen

14 01 2012
catcherofstars

Thank you so much!!
I must gratefully decline, as I have decided to no longer acknowledge rewards.
I write for myself and others, not awards.
Andrea xoxoxo

14 01 2012
lscotthoughts

I can feel your emotions; very powerful, Andrea!

15 01 2012
catcherofstars

Thank you, I have such sympathy for those existing in war torn countries.
Andrea

14 01 2012
The Emu

That is one powerful writing that I can relate to with my military background
Well written and done with a perspective of war seldom understood
Emu aka Ian

16 01 2012
catcherofstars

You were in the military? A romantic soldier 🙂
Andrea
ps Thank you!!

15 01 2012
MikeP

WAR… so many emotions run here with me after reading your poem. I grew up in between an Army base and an Air Force Base. Both my father and mother were in the Navy… yea , imagine growing up in this household … but thats another story. Most if not all of my friends were associated with the armed services and we ALL lived off base. Most were born overseas… my wife in France and I in Germany. So as your words are very poetic and ring true, there is another side I feel and see everyday… that of the soldiers family when he or she does not come home. We all suffer in times of war and I can sympathize with both sides. I truly love your vision and poetry!!!

ps… I still live and work where I grew up 🙂

16 01 2012
catcherofstars

Yikes!! My dad was navy, but he was never around. I come from a very military family, but they were all generations before me, so I was not affected
Really? Did you ever move away or have you been in Jersey all along?
Andrea

16 01 2012
MikeP

FOREVER!!!!.. which is why I like to travel for my photography.

16 01 2012
catcherofstars

haha!! I would like to move away, but something tells me it will not be a long distance. I have a HUGE family and I would miss them terribly.
Andrea

15 01 2012
kate58

A great argument against war. The Powers That Be should read this.

16 01 2012
catcherofstars

Yes, this and many other things
Andrea

15 01 2012
Eve Redwater

A powerful poem indeed; it draws you in, then there’s the full impact of the ending. I really like it, thank you for sharing it with us!

15 01 2012
catcherofstars

I’m glad you did and thank you for visiting!!
Andrea

16 01 2012
john tugano

I shout also for peace..Your poem is so great..=)

16 01 2012
catcherofstars

Thank you 🙂
Andrea

16 01 2012
Sea

read some of your poems..loved them.. 🙂

16 01 2012
catcherofstars

Thank you!!
Andrea

17 01 2012
Vampire Weather

Wow…stunning! Your thoughts and emotions are so strong. You convey your heart brilliantly always, and your talent is beyond words…well said. It made my soul ache

17 01 2012
catcherofstars

Thank you, and sorry for the pain, but sometimes pain in the heart is good, no?
Andrea

17 01 2012
Vampire Weather

Sometimes ’tis the pain which validates our existence, perhaps. Sometimes it is the only existence we have

17 01 2012
catcherofstars

If we don’t feel pain then we do not feel anything, love is often pain and happiness is too. All emotions and feelings and thoughts come with strings attached.
Andrea

Thoughts?

