He Shot Me Down

12 01 2012

I was a high-flying plane

A migratory bird

A hot air balloon

Happy as a clown

But then he shot me down

Down, Down, Down

Still happy as a clown

A very stupid clown

I fell in love with the ground

Terra firma was nice

But pure joy has a price

A love swollen heart

I was told would suffice

So small a fee

I seemed to me

I had traded my heart for lies

And watched my fantasy

Unravel before my eyes

That cruel boy

He shot me down

With arrows dipped

In liquid lies of love

But I escaped

Higher, Higher, Higher

And patched myself up

Love is something

Of which I’ve had enough

 

 

 

Actions

Information

23 responses

12 01 2012
C.B. Wentworth

With arrows dipped

In liquid lies of love

I love these two lines! You really have a way with rhythm. πŸ™‚

12 01 2012
catcherofstars

Thank you!! Sometimes a set rhyme scheme simply does not convey the emotion.
Andrea

12 01 2012
willowdot21

Beautiful

12 01 2012
catcherofstars

πŸ™‚ xoxoxo
Andrea

13 01 2012
lscotthoughts

Beautiful with an ending of hope and strength~

14 01 2012
catcherofstars

Thank you, young love is something easily forgotten
Andrea

13 01 2012
The Emu

Beautifully written
Sometime Cupids arrows are dipped in poison
But we all still fall to his arrows and his darts
Emu

14 01 2012
catcherofstars

And we all crave them
Andrea

13 01 2012
Cat Forsley

“Unravel before my eyes”
beautiful !
there is a poem within all the subtext of each of your lines of poetry – i see a thousand themes in this one poem .
much love xxC

13 01 2012
Step On a Crack

‘Love is something

Of which I’ve had enough’

beautiful lines! I hope that they are not true and just your Poetic Soul wandering!

Peace to you!

Jen

14 01 2012
catcherofstars

Oh yes, that undeserving boy has been long forgotten and replaced by another lol
Andrea xoxo

13 01 2012
pointsthruprose

What a beautiful read. I had to read it twice. Musical and profound. We can convince ourselves on just about anything, I hope love can be found again.

17 01 2012
catcherofstars

I am already looking……
Vagrant soul that I am
Andrea

14 01 2012
autumnsunshine124

Gabby and I have nominated you for the One Lovely Blog Award, you can nominate any amount of people you wish πŸ™‚ Congrats, Hugs, Autumn and Gabby

14 01 2012
catcherofstars

Thank you again for thinking so well of me πŸ™‚ xoxo
Andrea

14 01 2012
MikeP

1st … never enough love. 2nd…. “with arrows dipped in liquid lies of love”. That is just fitting and brilliant words to have in this poem. Love It!!!!

14 01 2012
catcherofstars

Thank you, I will admit a certain amount of pride in those lines
Andrea

14 01 2012
Vampire Weather

Pierced upon a winter’s eve
By unrestrained artillery
To fall below and strike the ground
I know the sound of “shot me down”

Beautiful, Andrea, in a very gripping sort of fashion. It reminds me of the Audio Bullys song “Shot Me Down” with Nancy Sinatra. A stirring thought. Brilliant!

14 01 2012
catcherofstars

I love your response, I haven’t heard that song but I’ll go search it on youtube
Andrea xxx

14 01 2012
El Guapo

Your imagery is breathtaking in this one. Great to read. Made me stop and reread straightaway.

15 01 2012
catcherofstars

Thank you and I’m glad it was good enough to reread!
Andrea

22 01 2012
Ben Naga

The old familiar tale … πŸ™‚

22 01 2012
catcherofstars

Told over a million times πŸ™‚
Andrea

Thoughts?

