When All Else Fades

6 01 2012

These are the words I want on the pamphlet given out at my funeral.  Don’t worry, I’m not suicidal or anything.  Just planning ahead.

 

When all else fades

Remember me

When all is gone and lost

Do not forget

When the sun sets

And the soft moon rises

Dream of a life well spent

When you stand

At the beginning of the ocean

As we so often did

Breathe in the scent of brine

And hear the cries of the gulls for me

When you look far on the horizon

And ask the curling waves why

That ship you see

With pure white sails

And an uncharted course

That is me. 

 

 

Actions

Information

31 responses

6 01 2012
willowdot21

Now you have made me cry , that is so lovely.

6 01 2012
catcherofstars

Thank you, did I really? Sad poems are often the easier ones to write and the more beautiful
Andrea

6 01 2012
Ben Naga

I started putting together a CD to be listened to at my wake, called “Wake”. Seeing as it was a CD, I aimed for 80 minutes. But then the bastards came up with the i-pod. Go figure. Change is always just around the corner, and well made plans pall apart.

Nice e-log. I’ll be back.

6 01 2012
catcherofstars

Thanks for dropping by and for the follow!!
Andrea

7 01 2012
Ben Naga

You’re welcome.

7 01 2012
tinarathore

“But then the bastards came up with the i-pod.”…. makes me smile 🙂 True, change is inevitable; but that’s where the beauty lies- the ways we nurture illusions and go on. I love your choice of title, “wake”. keep writing, keep believing! Cheers!

7 01 2012
Ben Naga

You’re welcome too.

6 01 2012
GrowthLines...

Lovely and complete.

6 01 2012
catcherofstars

Thank you!!! 🙂
Andrea

6 01 2012
El Guapo

Well done. Beautiful sentiments for any point in life.
But I’ve arranged for there to be hawaiian shirts and pina coladas at my funeral.

6 01 2012
catcherofstars

Now that’s a funeral!!
I want them to play Aerosmith at mine.
And no black allowed 🙂
Andrea

7 01 2012
aussieian2011

A great epitaph , should bring many a tear to a dry eye
Live a long and healthy life
Cheers
Ian

8 01 2012
catcherofstars

Thank you and the same to you my friend!!
Hope today brought you a smile!!
Andrea

7 01 2012
aussieian2011

Got me thinking about my gravestone
Think I will have on it

Here I lie
Do not weep
For where I lie
Soon you will sleep
lol
Ian

9 01 2012
catcherofstars

I love humorous gravestones, it shows a perfect sense of humor that the dead even in death can make the living laugh.
Cheers!!
Andrea

7 01 2012
Francina

beautiful poem!

8 01 2012
catcherofstars

Thank you!! xxxx
Andrea

7 01 2012
tinarathore

oh! simply love the way it closes…moving, indeed.

7 01 2012
catcherofstars

Thank you!!!
Andrea

7 01 2012
Jen C Hay

Ah, so moving! I love this poem!

9 01 2012
catcherofstars

Thank you, glad you loved it!! 🙂
Andrea

7 01 2012
WordsFallFromMyEyes

Wow. I haven’t thought much about my funeral. I wonder how people afford them, when they can’t actually afford them.

But they are lovely words, and it will have great meaning when the times comes. And I am definitely glad you are not suicidal 🙂

8 01 2012
Step On a Crack

Andrea! TEARS! thank you for putting the caveat at the top. This is tight and moving. planning ahead…..

XXX Jen

8 01 2012
catcherofstars

Thank you, it’s one of my more depressing poems but I think turned out nice
Stay strong and amazing!!
Andrea

8 01 2012
Vampire Weather

The sea is my wake
My tide stealing time
A life–adrift–content to sink
Beneath the azure cover letter of love
Into the chapters of life
The story of us

“When all else fades

Remember me

When all is gone and lost

Do not forget

When the sun sets

And the soft moon rises

Dream of a life well spent”

Those are magical lines. Stunning. The emotions and the images of nature are just riveting! Beautiful!

9 01 2012
Ben Naga

I agree.

9 01 2012
catcherofstars

Your words are lovely and thought-provoking, thank you for sharing!!
And thank you, I am glad my verses moved you so. xxxx
Andrea

9 01 2012
MikeP

Not many think of this … so glad you did… I really like it.

9 01 2012
catcherofstars

Thank you. I always wonder if the poems and such that are read at many funerals are the words that the deceased wishes to be said. Perhaps it is just the mourner’s way of consoling themselves.
Andrea

17 01 2012
someoneiswakingupforgetting

absolutely beautiful.

27 01 2012
Sanah

Refined and well executed !

Thoughts?

