The 50-Free

20 12 2011

– I am a swimmer and one of my events is the 50-free.  If you are in an Olympic pool, it is one pool length, and if you are in a regular laned pool it is “there and back again”.  The event is one of my favorites and I thought I would share the experience with you “land lubbers”, and I call you that fondly 🙂

The stone silence before the ringing bell

The ten feet that stepped up to the block

The adrenaline as they folded into position

RING!!!

The calculated launch

The strained strokes and relentless kicks

The flip at the wall

The stolen breath

The quick glance at the enemy’s position

Red rope blurs past

A black line marks my course

The last vital seconds

Made the race

I surged past

Toward my blue ribbon

Actions

Information

16 responses

20 12 2011
Eric

I am a land lubber 🙂 It is interesting how you presented this in such beautiful verse.

20 12 2011
catcherofstars

Thank you!! It is a sport that I have been doing for seven years and am very passionate about.
So glad you dropped by for a visit!!
AZ

20 12 2011
hollyannegetspoetic

I really enjoyed the way your words increase the tension as you go through the lines. Clever.

21 12 2011
catcherofstars

Haha thank you, I actually thought of the idea for the poem while I was swimming the 50 free.
AZ

21 12 2011
aussieian2011

First time I have heard a swimmers feelings before a race described
apart from broadcasters , well done , enjoyed that unusual sports blog
Ian aka Emu

21 12 2011
catcherofstars

Thank you!! Tell me, is swimming a popular sport in Australia? I have always wondered……
AZ

21 12 2011
willowdot21

Yea! the winner!

21 12 2011
Eric Alagan

Yup, in my books AZ gets to mount the centre pedastal!

21 12 2011
catcherofstars

Why thank you, the view must be wonderful!!
AZ

21 12 2011
catcherofstars

31.2 seconds 🙂
AZ

21 12 2011
bardessdmdenton

Wonderful! As a spectator of sports…with a writer/story-telling interest in everything…I love that you let us into the non-physical experience. Very unique and well done.

21 12 2011
catcherofstars

Thank you! Swimming is a very mental sport. It is much more individual than other sports and requires, to me, more mental stamina.
AZ

28 12 2011
sandrabranum

I can actually visualize the race and want to try myself although I can only swim well enough to sink like the Rock of Gibraltor.

28 12 2011
catcherofstars

‘Tis never to late to learn!
Hope you had a wonderful Christmas
AZ

1 01 2012
GrowthLines...

Reminds me of the times I’ve been to the Olympic Training Ctr in Colorado Springs, and happened to catch swimmers in the pool. Your poem gave the “rest of the story” of the swimmer to what I saw as a spectator. I like the momentum and tension that I can feel building as you paint a picture of the sprint to the finish.

1 01 2012
catcherofstars

Thank you, the 50 free is the shortest event for my age group and is arguably one of the hardest. Every stroke and breath you take has to be carefully calculated because of the shortness of the race.
Wishing you a prosperous New Year!!
AZ

Thoughts?

