A Few Haiku

16 12 2011

-I decided to try a new form, haiku.  Writing these three haiku was the most liberating and limiting experience I have ever had.  I was liberated from extraneous words and was forced to simplify my expressions and say more with less.  I was limited in that I often found myself merely one syllable over, a very frustrating position.  I plan to write more in the future and I hope you enjoy!!

AZ

 

His long tail twitches

Eyes wide watching his quarry

The agile cat hunts

 

A vast world contained

An escape from normalcy

Just look in a book

 

Thoughts sit in my mind

Icicles on tree branches

They melt, I forget

 

 

Actions

Information

13 responses

16 12 2011
willowdot21

Hi there these are just brilliant they are very good examples I love the cat hunting!

16 12 2011
catcherofstars

Thank you!! I just got a new kitten and it is in chase/attack mode. So cute….I love how he wiggles his but just before he pounces

16 12 2011
lscotthoughts

These are wonderful; I love them all, but esp. the last one, comparing thoughts to icicles..I know you may have seen some of mine, but here is my link, if you’re ihaven’t…http://lscotthoughts.com/category/haiku/. I started writing these in October and have really enjoyed the challenge of conveying a message in so little words and syllables.. I look forward to more of yours, too! 🙂

17 12 2011
catcherofstars

I haven’t looked at all of your’s yet, thanks for the link! I think that writing in haiku will also help me when writing my other poems. Thank you so much for the encouragement!!

17 12 2011
lscotthoughts

I know you’ve looked at some, so please forgive me, if I’ve already sent you the link. It’s hard to keep up, sometimes…of course, you’ve very welcome. I’m definitely no expert, but I do hope you continue to enjoy! 🙂

16 12 2011
MikeP

Really like the last 2… they evoke more imagery from my little mind. 🙂

17 12 2011
catcherofstars

Thank you, that’s what I was aiming for 🙂

17 12 2011
Francina

Oh yes, beautiful Haiku’s yuu posted here.. I love them.

Ciao,
Francina

17 12 2011
catcherofstars

Thank you, I’m glad you liked them and thanks for visiting, you are always welcome!!

17 12 2011
bardessdmdenton

All three of these are wonderful, reading each I breathed “Yes!”

Though writers love words…using so few of them is always liberating and effective.

17 12 2011
catcherofstars

Thank you so much for visiting!! I have decided that I love haiku, they make me analyze how I feel more.

18 12 2011
The Emu

Well done , a concept in writing I have never hear off or tried
Does remove the extranneous material that we add on
Enjoyed this blog
Aussie Emu

18 12 2011
catcherofstars

Thanks!! You should try it some time!! It’s actually quite fun (and frustrating). You will be doing some ordinary task and then realize that you were writing one in your head, or worse, saying one out loud.
AZ

Thoughts?

