I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For

14 12 2011

My thanks to U2 for the title.

I’ve torn through walls

I’ve walked the Earth

A thousand times

But I still haven’t found

What I’m looking for

I’ve trekked foreign sands

And nursed sore, callous hands

I’ve lost myself in an endless wood

And I have stood at the top

Of this world

As the sun began to climb

But I still haven’t found

What I’m looking for

I’ve washed up on a sandy shore

And watched an emaciated child

Sob for just one crumb more

I’ve shut my eyes

At prejudice’s ugly rise

I will never find what I’m looking for

But join me, friend

And together we’ll search to whatever end

And find what we are looking for

Actions

Information

10 responses

14 12 2011
poeticjourney

Ty for liking my poem and commenting.i like what I see! Love this piece! God Bless U:)

14 12 2011
catcherofstars

Thanks and the same to you!

14 12 2011
MikeP

WoW… so much emotion and truth in this poem.

14 12 2011
catcherofstars

Thank you

15 12 2011
onwindydays

Together, we will find what we are looking for
the key to knowledge is only through this door 🙂

15 12 2011
catcherofstars

I believe your inner poet has been awakened.

17 12 2011
onwindydays

Haha, well thank you 🙂 I was never really that great at it, but I guess you got to start somewhere right?

17 12 2011
catcherofstars

Of course! When I look back on some my first poetry (which my pride will never allow me to post on here) it’s hard to believe how much I have improved.

16 12 2011
willowdot21

good poem I like this and I often feel the same so thanks for the offer I will walk with you!

16 12 2011
catcherofstars

Now, where shall we start….?

Thoughts?

