Give Me A Beach

29 11 2011

Give me a beach

Without a single umbrella

No volleyball nets

Or lifeguard towers

A beach with sea oats

And dunes

Of real sand, not bleached white

A wild beach

Untamed

Untouched

By humanity’s lust

For the fake

No less than this

Will I take

I want a beach

That is real

Not a postcard

With picturesque

Palm trees

It’s up to you

If you want yours

Fake

However, I will always feel

That beaches should be kept real

Actions

Information

5 responses

29 11 2011
rastelly

You forgot those enormouse
enflatable things they anchor
to the sand bars and rent out
for eighty bucks an hour. If you
haven’t seen one, picture a
bouncy castle floating across
the horizion. 😦

Great poem, Great point.

1 12 2011
catcherofstars

I know exactly what you’re talking about! I hate those things! I considered sabotaging on once…..

1 12 2011
rastelly

There was a giant teeter totter with
missing handels when I went to flordia.
People tried to get on by jumping from
the slide, and kept bouncing off of it. I
wondered if there had been fowl play.
😉

7 12 2011
zumpoems

Hear, hear!!!

8 12 2011
catcherofstars

I believe that in the end it’s going to be up to the writers to make a difference, whether their medium of communication is verse or prose.

Thoughts?

